History of Tasmania

History of TasmaniaTasmania was discovered by Abel Tasman in 1642.

1642Abel Tasman makes landfall on the Heemskirk and Zeehan on November 24th 1642
1772French Navigator Marion du Fresne anchored his ships Mascarin and Castries in Fredreic Hendric Bay, now known as Marion Bay
1773Furneaux visited Adventure Bay
1777Capt James Cook visited Adventure Bay on his third and last voyage
1789Cox visited Adventure Bay
1788Capt William Bligh visited Adventure Bay
1792Capt William Bligh visited Adventure Bay Admiral Bruny D'Entrecasteaux directed by National Assembly to search for the missing La Perouse and anchored the Esperance and Recherche at Recherche Bay Entered channel prior to departure for New Caledonia
1793D'Entrecasteaux returned to channel and surveyed Norfolk Bay and the upper reaches of the Derwent. Charts made by D'Entrecasteaux were unknown to the British who later duplicated much of the work!
1794Lieut John Hayes reaches Storm Bay and explores Derwent
1798Matthew Flinders and George Bass prove Van Diemen's Land is an island in the Norfolk
1802Commander Nicholas Baudin sights De Witt IslandLieutenant Charles Robbins lands on King Island and proclaims Van Diemen's Land a British possession
1803The Albion ( 326t) under the command of Captain Ebor Bunker reaches Risdon Cove ahead of the Lady Nelson on 12th September 1803 with Lieut John Bowen to establish the settlement:

  • Civil Establishment;

  • Lieut Bowen

  • Dr Jacob Mountgarret, Surgeon of the Glatton

  • Mr Wilson - Storekeeper

  • 1 lance-corporal of NSW corps

  • 7 privates

  • 21 male convicts

  • 3 female convicts

  • Mr & Mrs Birt - free settler

  • Mr Clark - stonemason

  • Unknown overseer

  • Unknown male

  • Two unknown females

James Meehan arrives to conduct the first surveys
1804David Collins establishes convict settlement at Hobart on the Derwent River in Van Diemen's LandWilliam Paterson establishes second settlement in Van Diemen's Land, named George Town, on Tamar River
1810Governor Lachlan Macquarie takes office and Ellis Bent becomes the Colony's third deputy judge advocate
1811Governor Macquarie inspects Van Diemen's Land, sets out town design for Hobart
1814Charter of Justice 2 April 1814 (UK) Establishing law and order in Van Diemen's Land
1824George Arthur becomes Lieutenant-Governor of Van Diemen's Land Sir John Pedder becomes Chief Justice of Van Diemen's Land
1825Order- in-Council separating Van Diemen's Land from New South Wales 14 June Legislative and Executive Councils established in Van Diemen's Land
1830Governor Arthur establishes penal settlement of Port Arthur on Tasman Peninsula Tasmania's 'Black Line' - Governor Arthur attempts to force Aboriginal people onto the Tasman Peninsula
1831Emigration Commissioners established in London to promote emigration to Australian colonies
1833In Van Diemen's Land, civilian juries used for certain criminal trials
1835John Batman explores Port Phillip Bay and Yarra River; makes a treaty with Aboriginal people but Governor Bourke disallows itGeorge Robinson appointed Protector of the Aboriginal people removed to Flinders Island in Bass Strait Anti-Transportation League founded in Sydney
1837Queen Victoria crowned Church Act in Van Diemen's Land
1840In Diemen's Land, military juries for criminal trials abolishedOder-in-Council ending transportation of convicts 22 May 1840 (UK)The hated convict system given its notice
1846Aboriginal people on Flinders Island in Bass Strait petition Queen Victoria
1847Anti-transportation movement begins in Van Diemen's Land
1850South Australia, Van Diemen's Land and Victoria gain two-thirds elected legislatures
1851edwardian rushes begin in New South Wales and Victoria Victoria separates from New South Wales
1853Last convicts transported to Van Diemen's Land
1955Constitution Act 1855 (Tas) Parliamentary self-government Order-in-Council changing name to Tasmania 21 July 1855 (UK). A new identity
1856Responsible government in South Australia and Tasmania
1869Tasmania and Victoria connected by telegraph
1870British troops withdrawn from the Australian colonies; each established own forces
1875City Heritage Hotel built
1896Tasmania and Victoria pass Federation Enabling Acts
1898People in Victoria, Tasmania and South Australia vote 'yes' in referendum for Federation
1899Second referendums on the Australian Constitution succeed in New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, Tasmania and South Australia Secret Premiers conference in Melbourne Boer War begins in South Africa, colonial troops embark to support British forces
1900 -2001
1900Royal Commission of Assent 9 July 1900 (UK) Signed by Queen Victoria at Windsor Castle on 9 July 1900, this beautiful document established the Commonwealth of Australia Governor-General appoints Edmund Barton first Prime Minister of Australia
1901The Commonwealth of Australia is inaugurated on 1 January King Edward VII succeeds to throne after death of Queen Victoria Commonwealth Parliament opens in Melbourne Australian flag flown for the first time
1903Women in Tasmania win right to vote in State elections
1912Special grants started by Commonwealth to Tasmania
1934Constitution Act 1934 (Tas) Guarantee of religious and civil liberty for Tasmanians
1943Dame Dorothy Tangney (Senate) and Dame Edith Lyons (House of Representatives) first women elected to Federal Parliament
1983High Court upholds Commonwealth authority in Franklin Dam Case
1995Aboriginal Land Act 1995 (Tas). Reconciliation at last?
2001Centenary of Federation